My Tryst With English – My First & Last Love

17 Jul

English is something which has fascinated me from my childhood, and continues to do so with each passing day, each passing hour, and each passing minute. I fell in love with English even before I knew that I was in love with it! But, when I realized it, it only grew from strength to strength. My profound love for English cannot be described in words, for all words in the English language will not suffice to express my love for the truly international language. Sometimes, I wonder what I would have been without English – a Zilch! English has bestowed upon me so much that I shudder to think of a life without English! English has become my breath – a second life, so to say, and the other side of me, without an iota of exaggeration! English and I are like the two sides of the same coin – inseparable and complementary. Such is my love for English that I feel even death cannot do us apart, since my literary works will live (and be cherished and preserved) after me for generations to come, and keep reminding readers and my posterity of my presence in this world once upon a time!

 

My love with English would be incomplete without the mention of ‘Vocabulary.’ It is vocabulary which makes my love with English consummate. ‘Words’ are the world to me. They help me choose the right expression for an opportune moment. They provide me the right platform to express my innermost feelings, and empathize and connect with others – a natural trait of any human being. Words not only equip you with the power and freedom of expression, but they go much beyond that by way of helping you forge deep human bonds and relationships. It is aptly said that ‘words are like the arrows in your quiver.’ It is always beneficial to have as many arrows in the quiver, because you never know when you might need them. There’s no harm in having a plethora of arrows, but you should never fall short of it! Words are like the arrows which are shot by Cupid (The God of Love) into the hearts of humans. They help build and fortify relationships, more so, when they come from the bottom of your heart, through your lips, and make its way permanently into the heart and mind of the receiver/listener!

© 2008. P. Mohan Chandran. All Rights Reserved.

4 Responses to “My Tryst With English – My First & Last Love”

  1. T A Ramesh Thursday, July 17, 2008 at 02:27 #

    I am also sailing in the same boat as you do as far as English language is concerned. I believe in One World, One Language [English], Single Currency and Common Laws for all the nations! This most cherished idea of mine is the driving force behind all of my articles, poems, stories, etc. I have been writing and publishing so far and so forth. Even if I die suddenly my written words will speak to the world of my Dreams, Ideas and Realities for ever and for ever!

  2. Raghuram Malladi Sunday, August 2, 2009 at 20:43 #

    Hmmmmm ……… Wow that was honest, clean and interesting.

  3. Ch. Ramrathnam Monday, August 3, 2009 at 16:47 #

    Hi, Mohan, this is absolutely superb. My only advice is that you better not show this to your (future) wife lest she should think you are fiddling with infidelity…

    …i really mean this as your blog is full of your overwhelming and passionate love for English.

    • Mohan Chandran Monday, August 3, 2009 at 23:06 #

      Hi Ram! I am already married to my vision. And I strongly believe that bigamy is a crime and sin! So, there’s no question of a wife at all! Ha ha ha!🙂 So, I hope I can now keep fiddling, not with fidelity, but with my experiments in English!🙂

Leave a Reply

